Week Notes 20#28

A 5-day weekend, with Monday and Tuesday off work, and ending the work week very happily with my promotion!

  • An extra long weekend was really nice, and I felt it helped with some of the burnout I've been feeling
  • Morph's cat flap seems to be broken, and not registering when he's coming into the cat flap, so that's really not fun, and has meant he's not had the best week
  • Re-discovered the artist Logistics, who I had quite a few songs in my library already, and have enjoyed finding quite a few other great songs
  • Wednesday back at work was a great start - it was the team's retro, and then in the afternoon we had a virtual escape room and our team came 7/20 (and 7/8 for those that escaped). It was good fun, and nice virtual, different, experience to the ones we've done personally, and had a good mix of teamwork (with a team captain set up), and Augmented Reality
    • Got a £15 voucher for Just Eat from work, as we didn't get the chance to have food together
  • It's the start of PI planning, so we're looking ahead to the next quarter - which is also my last quarter with the team
    • We've had a few team changes, which has had a noticeable effect on the productivity in sessions
    • Some interesting work coming through that's giving the team some good opportunities
  • Some quite frustrating inter-team comms issues, which could've really been handled better - not caused by me, at least
  • My promotion was confirmed on Thursday, which I'm really happy about. It's been a lot of work to get me to this point, and I'm really glad to have it come to fruition. It's going to be a great step up - but I'm glad I have another PI to help hand things over and ensure the team is in a great place before I go
    • The team moves weren't by choice, but it's a great opportunity, and I was headhunted for the position!
    • Celebrated, very classily, with KFC and Prosecco
  • Didn't get to attending JetBrains Technology Day for Java in the end
  • Anna had some friends over on Sunday for her birthday which was nice - was nice to see them, and to have some human contact
  • Ring Fit Adventures hasn't been as successful this week - on Friday I didn't do it, and Saturday's game was cut short by the takeaway arriving early naan
  • Making a start on my Micropub internals rewrite - it's a bit of a big one, and I've wanted to invest time in it as there's a lot of complexities to keep in my head
  • This weekend raced by, and was far too short. Maybe because it was three days shorter than last weekend!
  • Bought an "infinity cube" to help with fidgeting
  • Fixed my retweets sending incorrectly
  • Someone posted Creating My Own Personal Micropub Client to Lobsters, which has given me a tonne of traffic over the last few days
    • Been enjoying the flexibility that having my own client provides, and being able to i.e. have HWC-specific posts
  • Caught up with my cousins - which at least started a bit earlier than last time!
  • First PHPMiNDS with Bal on the team, and in this meetup we had set things up much better, with slides and a bit more structure
  • Watched The Old Guard
  • Watched Plus One
  • Pre-ordered Paper Mario: The Origami King
  • Played a fair bit of Apex Legends

Written by Jamie Tanna's profile image Jamie Tanna on , and last updated on .

Content for this article is shared under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution Non Commercial Share Alike 4.0 International, and code is shared under the Apache License 2.0.

#week-notes.

This post was filed under articles.

Has this content helped you? Please consider supporting me so I can continue to create content like this!

This post is part of the series week-notes.

Related Posts

Other posts you may be interested in:

Interactions with this post

Interactions with this post

Below you can find the interactions that this page has had using WebMention.

Have you written a response to this post? Let me know the URL:

Do you not have a website set up with WebMention capabilities? You can use Comment Parade.